The start to my journey into the Tech World so far

·

3 min read

The decision came abruptly, and unexpected.

Having done abysmal in high school, I vowed to never affiliate myself with anything related to coding, ever again! It was a thick web of astounding difficulties for me; And I never stopped beating myself up for choosing IT as a subject.

Seven years later, I find myself deep within python modules and CS50 material. Even I don’t know how it came to this. But this time around, it feels deeply like my vocation.

Sometimes, for some reason, I wonder why it took me so long. Maybe I had to run away from it, to later realize that fate will lead me right back to it. It might come across as a cliché, but coding really pummeled the crap out of me, and made me hate school way more than I already did. Not to point fingers or anything, but my high school teacher didn’t give it ease. There was literally only 2 out of 13 who did fairly okay. (Yeah… OKAY)

One other reason being that, the school system doesn’t suit everyone. Having dropped out of the course I was doing in Uni, I learned what works for me, and what doesn’t. And it is exactly why the self-taught route seems to be much more effective for me. (Even though I feel like landing a job will be much more difficult.) Of more importance, is my way, at my own pace.

To be very honest, I’m loving this journey. I’m really enjoying it. Instead of having enough of it, I often feel like I’m progressing too slow, or I’m doing far less. For me this is good. Afterall, IT gave me a generous beating years ago; and I always wanted to get it over with.

But now this passion and determination? This is what gives my life purpose and meaning.

Feels like I’ve been writing forever. I wonder if I’m even going to stop(lol). I guess this is how it feels to finally get direction in life.

This is my 7th week since I began with Computer Science. I have learned a lot, and I’ve also had enough time implementing with python; Which is my preferred language. I feel very good now that this week I’ve had a breakthrough with Object Orientated Programming. It had been my biggest obstacle for a while. And at times I didn’t think I was going to grasp it.

Now the challenge for me is knowing what to do next. I feel like the biggest challenge with going the self-taught route is coming across too much information. Which doesn’t come structured like at an institution. You might find yourself drifting off, or wasting your time on what’s not too important.

I want to be a data scientist, but I stress about how difficult it will be to break into it. Another voice in my head tells me to start with Software Development. But I don’t feel for it as much as I do for Data Science. It really frustrates me.

Anyway, in the meantime, it’s learning. I will get direction in due time.

There goes my first ever blog. I don’t know how I feel about it. I hope it’s not too bad.